Praying for Those in Authority

I Timothy 2:1-2 commands believers to pray for “kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence.” In various settings, groups of believers are asked to show by a raised hand if they pray regularly for our governmental leaders. The majority of those gathered usually do not raise their hands.

The apostle Paul states it this way: “Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the Man Christ Jesus, who gave Himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time…” (I Timothy 2:1-6).

In order to assist in our responsibility, I would like to list some of those for whom we ought to be praying:

President of the US – Barack Obama

Vice President of the US – Joe Biden

White House Chief of Staff – Denis McDonough

Secretary of State – John Kerry

Secretary of Defense – Chuck Hagel

Attorney General – Eric Holder, Jr.

Secretary of the Treasury – Jack Lew

Secretary of the Interior – Sally Jewell

Secretary of Agriculture – Tom Vilsack

Secretary of Commerce – Rebecca Blank

Secretary of Labor – Seth Harris

Secretary of Health & Human Services – Kathleen Sebelius

Secretary of Housing & Urban Development – Shaun Donovan

Secretary of Transportation – Ray LaHood

Secretary of Energy – Ernest Moniz

Secretary of Education – Arne Duncan

Secretary of Veterans Affairs – Eric Shinseki

Secretary of Homeland Security – Janet Napolitano

Ambassador to the UN – Susan Rice

Senior Advisor – Valerie Jarrett

US Senators from Virginia – Mark Warner

Tim Kaine

US Congress Reps – (02) – Scott Rigell

(04) – Randy Forbes

(03) – Bobby Scott

Speaker of the US House – John Boehner

Governor of Virginia – Bob McDonnell

Lt. Governor of Virginia – Bill Bolling

Attorney General – Ken Cuccinelli

State Senators – (07) – Frank Wagner

(08) – Jeff McWaters

(05) – Ken Alexander

(14) – Harry Blevins

State Delegates – (81) – Barry Knight

(84) – Sal Iaquinto

(82) – Harry Purkey

(78) – John Cosgrove

(21) – Ron Villanueva

(85) – Robert Tata

(83) – Chris Stolle

(90) – Algie Howell, Jr.

(87) – David Ramadan

(89) – Daun Sessoms Hester

Mayor of Virginia Beach – Will Sessoms

Mayor of Chesapeake – Alan Krasnoff

Mayor of Norfolk – Paul Fraim

Of course, we don’t need to pray for all of the State Senators or Delegates, only the ones from the districts in which we live. The same for the mayors, city councils, etc. I have determined that my territory consists of the cities of Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Suffolk. At the very least, we can lift up the President, the Governor, and the mayor of our city.

Categories Pastors Blog | Tags: | Posted on June 3, 2013

Social Networks: RSS Facebook Twitter Google Stumble Upon Digg Reddit

Leave a Reply

close window

Service Times & Directions

Weekend Masses in English

Saturday Morning: 8:00 am

Saturday Vigil: 4:30 pm

Sunday: 7:30 am, 9:00 am, 10:45 am,
12:30 pm, 5:30 pm

Weekend Masses In Español

Saturday Vigil: 6:15pm

Sunday: 9:00am, 7:15pm

Weekday Morning Masses

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday: 8:30 am

3220 Monet Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23453
(757) 468-6509
Copyright © 2017 Landstown Community Church - Virginia Beach Wedding Photography